More results...

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Search in posts
Search in pages

Nominations for Hall of Fame – Push

From: David Sandford, ESSFTA Field Vice President
The Hall of Fame Nominations Committee is in the process of collecting nominations.  The committee for selecting the February 2018 nominees consists of the following members:

Mhari Peschel
Jess Sekey
Mark Hairfield
Dan Lussen
Ray Cacchio
Robert Bullard
David Sanford

The link to the history, inductees and eligibility:

Nominations currently under considerations:

Field rule changes for 2017

From Field V.P. David Sanford:

I hope everyone is having a good fall.  I am looking forward to seeing many of you at the NAC and NOC in the next month.

The Board of Governors held a special meeting on October 24, 2016.  We have determined that based on the feedback from the trial community, the Judges Enhancement program should be postponed indefinitely, until we have had a chance for public comment and input for implementation.  This public input will resemble the survey used on the pro to amateur status change.  This means that the old apprentice program will remain in place until a new rule is approved.  The new rule stating there is a requirement for senior judges to attend a seminar, or run a dog, is also postponed.

The board discussed the challenges that clubs are experiencing finding judges under the current judging rule.  After much discussion, the board has determined that the judges should be able to judge three times in a calendar year. This removes the once in an interclub restriction that was previously in effect.  The goal of this change is to make finding judges easier, and hopefully reduce the overall expense of judges.

Good luck to everyone at nationals.

David Sanford
Field Vice President

2017 Bird Dog Hall of Fame Inductees

From Field V.P. David Sanford:

Congratulations to Gary Wilson and NCFC FC AFC Windmillwood Storm (Bruce) for being voted into the 2017 Hall of Fame.

The induction ceremony will once again be held in conjunction with the Hall of Fame trials near Grand Junction, TN in early February.

Field Trial “Blue Book”

An updated version of the Blue Book is posted here.

From Bev Matthews, Field VP:

A huge thank you to Bob Iversen and Janet Christensen for their many, many months of reviewing every page of the Blue Book and updating it to match today’s Field Trial environment.  These new books will be available in early 2016 from the Parent Club store, but feel free to download and/or print the online copy linked above.  This book has been an invaluable tool for Field Trial judges and serves as a very detailed explanation of the AKC Field Trial Rules and Standard Procedures for Spaniels.

2014 National Amateur Championship

The 2014 National Amateur Championship was run at the beautiful Pyramid State Park near Pinckneyville, IL commencing December 1.  Tremendous thanks to President/Chairman George Reichert (with much assistance from his wife Arlene), Field Trial Chairman Pat Hempel, and Secretary Jan Johnson for a well run event. Ralph Botti and Alice Stewart judged the trial.

Congratulations to Danelle Oliver and 2014 NAFC Ferndelle's Flying Cloud of HCR MH AJP AXP ("Acey", 2X NAFC Beggarbush Clipper x HCK Ivey's Joyous Chaser MH), owned by Danelle and Lawrence Oliver, bred by Mark Nix.  Danelle and Acey also received the Don Cande award for the best looking female dog in the competition.

ESSFTA members also placed second (Bill Cosgrove with FC AFC Ivanhoe's Mr. Tuxedo) and fourth (John Hall with FC AFC Apple Creek's Miss Liberty), as well as earning a Certificate of Merit (Skip Smith with AFC Sunrise Zach of Farview).  Congratulations, gentlemen.

For full information and coverage of the event (thanks, Mary Kemper!), visit